Second Day of the Longines Global Champions Tour Presented by GNP Mexico Jumping

13 Apr 2024

With an exciting jump-off, the winner of the Banorte Trophy was decided.

The Longines Global Champions Tour presented by GNP Mexico Jumping concluded Friday's activities with a thrilling finale, the Banorte Trophy, the day's highlight event. The Banorte Trophy is a CSI 5* competition with a height of 1.55m. Canada's Peter Grant was in charge of course design. The track featured a total of twelve obstacles and 15 jumps.

Of the 30 horse-rider pairs that participated in the event, fourteen made it to the jump-off. The individual Olympic champion from Tokyo opened the jump-off with a very fast and faultless round in a time of 36.62 seconds. However, this was surpassed by German rider Richard Vogel and his chestnut horse 'Cydello'. The third place in the Banorte Trophy went to another German rider, Katrin Eckermann, riding her mare 'Chao Lee'.

Frenchman Simon Delestre triumphs again on Mexican soil in the Mercedes Benz Trophy.

A total of 32 riders gathered for the Mercedes Benz Trophy, the first CSI 5* event on Friday. The participant list included 7 Mexican riders, as well as three Olympic medalists from the Tokyo Games: Sweden's Malin Baryard-Johnsson, England's Ben Maher, and the Netherlands' Maikel van der Vleuten.

The Mercedes Benz Trophy was judged as a speed competition, a CSI 5* category, with a height of 1.50m. The course consisted of 12 obstacles and 14 jumps. Out of the 32 participants, only 8 horse-rider pairs managed to complete a faultless round.

The undisputed winner was the world's number 7 FEI-ranked rider, Frenchman Simon Delestre, riding 'I Amelusina R 51'. This pair clinched victory with a faultless round in a time of 74.77 seconds. Canadian rider Erynn Ballard, riding 'Libido van't Hofken', came closest to challenging the Frenchman's time. Ballard completed her round faultless in a time of 75.82 seconds. The third position went to Portuguese rider Duarte Seabra and his horse 'Dourados 2'.

A young Mexican rider takes home the Azimut Trophy.

The Azimut Trophy was judged as a speed competition in the CSI 2* category, with a height of 1.45m. A total of 51 horse-rider pairs tackled the course designed by Canadian Peter Grant. The track featured a total of twelve obstacles and thirteen jumps.

Mexican rider Martina Franco, riding the mare 'Douce Emeraude d'Or', clinched victory by completing the fastest faultless round of the competition. Franco, who has shown excellent performance in previous days of the competition, completed her round with a time of 65.22 seconds. With a small difference of 45 hundredths of a second, the second position went to Colombian rider Ruben Arroyave and his mare 'Valeska Z', who finished their round in a time of 65.67 seconds. Completing the podium was Mexican rider José Antonio Chedraui Eguía and his horse 'Good Limit'.

Related news