The Longines Global Champions Tour Mexico presented by GNP Mexico Jumping 2023 has concluded.

24 Apr 2023

The most important event of the weekend, the Longines Global Champions Tour Grand Prix of Mexico presented by GNP Seguros, had a spectacular ending.

David Will was the winner of the Longines Global Champions Tour Grand Prix of Mexico presented by GNP Seguros, the most important event of the CSI5*, with an impressive round in the jump-off riding "My Prins van Dorperheide".

The German rider, who was in great form after securing fifth place in the Miami Beach Grand Prix last week, thrilled the audience at Campo Marte with a flawless round in 43.16 seconds, beating Sweden's Malin Baryard-Johnsson with her great "H & M Indiana" and American Laura Kraut with "Baloutine".

Only 9 pairs cleared the course without faults designed and built by Canadian course designer Peter Grant. A course consisting of 12 obstacles and 15 jumps.

In his first Grand Prix of the Longines Global Champions Tour, Eugenio Garza Pérez was the local hero of the afternoon as the only Mexican representative to make it to the jump-off. 8 points separated the pair formed with his incredible "Contago", although they achieved the best time of the event, surpassing Will by 0.13 seconds.

The winner, the impeccable David Will, received the trophy from Tane handed by Diana Wright, Chief Operating Officer of GNP Seguros, and Xavier Ligero, VP Sales International, presented him with the Longines watch.

The second place, awarded by the President of the Mexican Equestrian Federation, Juan Manuel Cossío, and the third by Álvaro Arrieta, President and founder of OXER.

Banorte Trophy for the number 1

At 10:45 am, the Banorte Trophy began, a 5* event at 1.50 meters in height in which 31 pairs participated. Only 12 of them managed to finish without faults and within the time. Longines FEI World Ranking number 1 and gold medal winner of the World Championship in Herning (Denmark), Swedish rider Eckermann, clinched victory by stopping the clock at 67.46 seconds with his agile "Glamour Girl".

Second place went to Shane Breen with "Haya" and the third step of the podium was occupied by Brazilian Francisco José Mesquita with "Catch me Marathon".

The Mexican national anthem played for a golden finish

The highest-ranked Mexican rider, Nicolás Pizarro, claimed the top spot in the Palacio de Hierro Trophy, the main event of the CSI2*. Only 2 pairs made it to the jump-off, and only he achieved the coveted double clear round. Along with "Chacco S Airman PS", he also received the Hermès trophy for the best Mexican rider of the competition.

Second place went to the very young Francisco Pasquel Vega who rode "Dominant 2000 Z", and third place to Patricio Pasquel with "Chakkalou PS", with one time fault in the first round.

Martina Franco Stephan, winner of the Arzyz Trophy

A total of 58 pairs competed in the Arzyz Trophy, which ultimately stayed at home with the victory of young Mexican rider Martina Franco Stephan, riding "Ecuador de Beaufour", leaving Isaac Parada Urtaza in second place with "Caron Jmen" followed by Patricio Pasquel Poo and "Cabablue".

Related news